New Requirement to Travel to Europe in 2025

Note: This article was updated on October 13, 2023 to reflect the postponed launch date of 2025. Previously, it was reported as 2024.


Traveling to Europe? Don’t forget to add this to your to-do list.

Starting in 2025, citizens of over 60 visa-exempt countries will need to have a travel authorization to enter most countries in Europe. This includes Canada, The United States, and the United Kingdom, and will be an entry requirement that’s attached to your passport.

How will it work?

From what we know so far, the ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorisation System) travel authorization is something you will need to apply for online, ahead of any travel to Europe. It will be valid for three years, or until your passport expires. It looks like you’ll need to get a new travel authorization if you get a new passport. According to the official European Union ETIAS website, you can enter European countries “as often as you want for short-term stays – normally for up to 90 days in any 180-day period”.

How much does it cost to apply?

In order to apply for the travel authorization, you’ll need to pay 7 Euros.

Note: If you’re under the age of 18 or over 70, you will not have to pay this fee.

What countries are included?

There are a total of 30 European countries included in this travel authorization program, including France, Switzerland, Greece, and many more. The whole list can be found here.

When does it start?

This will not start until 2025. While this is not yet updated on the official EU ETIAS website, trusted source Schengen Visa Info has reported the update. Read their story and quotes from EU officials here.

Where can I get more information?

Head to the official ETIAS website here or Schengen Visa Info site here for more information ahead of this program going live. Currently, we do not have access to the application form, exact start-date, and more.